Baptism of the Holy Spirit

Posted on July 2, 2011

0


John the baptist prepares the way for the Lord.  He came preaching a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins.

This was his message: “After me will come one more powerful than I, the thongs of whose sandals I am not worthy to stoop down and untie.  I baptize you with water, but he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit.”  Mark 1:7-8

John the baptist tells us Jesus will do the baptizing.  Jesus will baptize us with the Holy Spirit.

Acts 1:4-5 On one occasion, while he was eating with them, he gave them this command: “Do not leave Jerusalem, but wait for the gift my Father promised, which you have heard me speak about.  For John baptized with water, but in a few days you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit.”

Some people had a baptism, but their baptism was only with John’s baptism.  Remember, John’s baptism was not with the Holy Spirit.  John’s baptism was a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins.  Some never even heard about the Holy Spirit.

Acts 19:1-5 While Apollos was at Corinth, Paul took the road through the interior and arrived at Ephesus.  There he found some disciples and asked them, “Did you receive the Holy Spirit when you believed?”  They answered, “No, we have not even heard that there is a Holy Spirit.”  So Paul asked, “Then what baptism did you receive?”  “John’s baptism,” they replied.  Paul said, “John’s baptism was a baptism of repentance.  He told the people to believe in the one coming after him, that is, in Jesus.”  On hearing this they were baptized into the name of the Lord Jesus.

Acts 2:38  Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins.  And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.

From Acts 2:38, we see that we are to repent and be baptized, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of our sins.  And we will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.

Christians are to be water baptized, even after having received the Holy Spirit.

Acts 10:47 Then Peter said, “Can anyone keep these people from being baptized with water?  They have received the Holy Spirit just as we have.”

There is only one baptism of the Holy Spirit.  Ephesians 4:5 one Lord, one faith, one baptism;

In Acts 10:44; Acts 11:14; and, Acts 19:2, we see that the Holy Spirit came on some after hearing the message, to those who believed in the Lord Jesus Christ…

Acts 10:43-44 All the prophets testify about him that everyone who believes in him receives forgiveness of sins through his name.”  While Peter was still speaking these words, the Holy Spirit came on all who heard the message.

Acts 11:14-15 He will bring you a message through which you and all your household will be saved.’  “As I began to speak, the Holy Spirit came on them as he had come on us at the beginning.

In the next scriptures (Acts 15:7-8) we learn that God showed that he accepted them by giving the Holy Spirit to them.

Acts 15:7-8 After much discussion, Peter got up and addressed them:  “Brothers, you know that some time ago God made a choice among you that the Gentiles might hear from my lips the message of the gospel and believe.  God, who knows the heart, showed that he accepted them by giving the Holy Spirit to them, just as he did to us.

Therefore, from the scriptures, I see that Jesus does the baptizing (Mark 1:8).  I see that people can receive the Holy Spirit after they hear and believe the message, to those who believed in the Lord Jesus Christ (Acts 10:44; Acts 11:14; and, Acts 19:2).  I see from the scriptures that we can receive the Holy Spirit after we repent and are baptized (Acts 2:38).  There is only one baptism of the Holy Spirit (Ephesians 4:5).  We receive the Holy Spirit when God shows that he accepts us (Acts 15:8).

I see that the Holy Spirit can come on someone after an apostle placed his hands on him or her, see Acts 8:17 and Acts19:6.

Acts 8:14 When the apostles in Jerusalem heard that Samaria had accepted the word of God, they sent Peter and John to them.  15When they arrived, they prayed for them that they might receive the Holy Spirit, 16because the Holy Spirit had not yet come upon any of them; they simply been baptized into the name of the Lord Jesus.  17Then Peter and John placed their hands on them, and they received the Holy Spirit.”

Jesus laid His hands on many of those he healed; however, he could heal without laying his hands on people.  Scripture tells of when Jesus was nowhere near the area of the servant of the centurion when he healed him.  See Matthew 8:8.

When the Holy Spirit came on the disciples at Pentecost, there was no laying on of hands.
When Cornelius and his whole household received the Holy Spirit, there was no laying on of hands.

In the above scripture (Acts 8:15), we learn they prayed for them that they might receive the Holy Spirit.  In  Luke 11:13 we see that the Father gives the gift of the Holy Spirit to those who ask.  Luke 11:13 If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”

Our Father in heaven will give the Holy Spirit to His children who ask him…to those who ask him.

Acts 5:30-32 The God of our fathers raised Jesus from the dead—whom you had killed by hanging him on a tree.  God exalted him to his own right hand as Prince and Savior that he might give repentance and forgiveness of sins to Israel.  We are witnesses of these things, and so is the Holy Spirit, whom God has given to those who obey him.”

“…the Holy Spirit, whom God has given to those who obey him.”

John 14:15-31 “If you love me, you will obey what I command.  and I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever— the Spirit of truth.  The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him.  but you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you.  I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.  Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me.  Because I live, you also will live.  On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.  Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me.  He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.”  Then Judas (not Judas Iscariot) said, “But, Lord, why do you intend to show yourself to us and not to the world?”  Jesus replied, “If anyone loves me he will obey my teaching.  My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.  He who does not love me will not obey my teaching.  These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me.  “All this I have spoken while still with you.  But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.  Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you.  I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.  “You heard me say, “I am going away and I am coming back to you.’  If you loved me, you would be glad that I am going to the Father, for the Father is greater than I.  I have told you now before it happens, so that when it does happen you will believe.  I will not speak with you much longer, for the prince of this world is coming.  He has no hold on me, but the world must learn that I love the Father and that I do exactly what my Father has commanded me.  “Come now; let us leave.

Read again, what Jesus said.  John 14:23 Jesus replied, “If anyone loves me he will obey my teaching.  My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.

Again, from the scriptures, I see that Jesus does the baptizing; Jesus immerses us with the Holy Spirit (Mark 1:8).  I see that people can receive the Holy Spirit after they hear and believe the message, to those who believe in the Lord Jesus Christ (Acts 10:44; Acts 11:14; and, Acts 19:2).  I see from the scriptures that we can receive the Holy Spirit after we repent and are baptized (Acts 2:38).  There is only one baptism of the Holy Spirit (Ephesians 4:5).  We receive the Holy Spirit when God accepts us (Acts 15:8).  I see that the Holy Spirit can come on someone after an apostle placed his hands on him or her, Acts 8:14; and, Acts 19:6.  We learn they prayed for them that they might receive the Holy Spirit (Acts 8:15), and that the Father gives the Holy Spirit to His children who ask (Luke 11:13).  Those who obey God receive the Holy Spirit (Acts 5:32).  If we love Jesus and obey his teaching, God and Jesus will love us and they will come to make their home with us (John 14:23).

Hear the message; believe on Jesus; obey the Father and the Son; repent your sins; be water baptized to make the pledge, the promise to God that you will die to the sins of the world and walk a new life through Jesus Christ; expect the Holy Spirit; and ask for him.   Hear, believe, love, obey, repent, promise, and ask.

What condition is the person’s mind and heart when they first hear of the gospel message?  How much do they hear, understand, and accept when they hear and believe the message of the Lord Jesus Christ?  Did you hear the true message?  What stage spiritually are they in?  Do they hear the message and know that they want to obey Jesus’ teachings?  They should keep learning of Jesus’ teaching.  They should put to practice what they hear.

Matthew 7:24 “Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wiseman who built his house on the rock.”

It gives me great comfort to know that the Father and Jesus will come and make a home with those who obey Jesus’ teachings.  I have confidence in this whether or not a religion preformed any act correctly or not.

Posted in: Truth Revealed